About
This Wetherspoon pub was purpose-built in the mid 19th century to serve Grimsby's first railway. The hotel took its name from the earl of Yarborough, who was a director of the railway company and lived at nearby Brocklesby. The Yarborough was later owned by another railway company and, eventually, by the LNER. After the Second World War, the British Transport Commission owned it. In 1951, it was bought by a brewery from Hull. In 1960, it was nearly demolished. The hotel, which is a symbol of the town's transition from an 18th-century fishing village into a great Victorian port, is now a listed building. In November 2016 we re-opened after a refurbishment which includes a 36 bedroom hotel. Some of the old features from when it opened back in the 19th century remain including the amazing ballroom which now houses the ladies toilets.
Details